top of page

Communist China to Join Forces with 'Russian NATO' in New Mega-Alliance 'Global Security Initiative'

Main Photo: Representatives of all 8 member nations of the Collective Security Treaty Organization | Uncredited Photo / CSTO; Middle Photo: Chinese Chairman of the National People's Congress Li Zhanshu stands with Russian President Vladimir Putin | Maxim Shemetov / REUTERS

The Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) is a multinational military alliance of Eurasian nations headed by the Russian Federation (RF) and consists of eight member states: Islamic Emirate of Afghanistan (Afghanistan), Kyrgyz Republic (Kyrgyzstan), Republic of Armenia (Armenia), Republic of Belarus (Belarus), Republic of Kazakhstan (Kazakhstan), Republic of Serbia (Serbia), Republic of Tajikistan (Tajikistan), and RF. The Republic of Uzbekistan (Uzbekistan) was a CSTO founding member during the first twenty years of the alliance's history and had left the organization twice, once in 1999 and again in 2012 after rejoining in 2006. The alliance has been operating since 1992.

OSIRIS seeks to present research questions concerning the role of CSTO’s charter in the context of modern security events, such as the Russo-Ukrainian War, the CSTO Peacekeeping Operation in Kazakhstan, and the alliance’s security posture in relation to NATO and Asian powers. In June 2022, Chinese sources indicate that the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) intends to increase its military cooperation with CSTO. Chairman of the CCP's National People's Congress Li Zhanshu calls it the "Global Security Initiative."


bottom of page